Law Society of South Australia Awards

Brian Withers' Award

The Award was established to recognise a Member of the Law Society who through their involvement with the Society, whether via Council or Committee or in another exceptional way, has provided outstanding service to the Society, its members and the profession.

Justice Award

The Justice Award is presented to an individual practitioner or practitioners whose commitment to promoting access to justice in South Australia has been demonstrated in a range of activities over an extended period, or in a single activity of significance.

President's Medal

The President’s Medal is awarded to the individual or group who has in the President’s opinion made an outstanding contribution to the profession or has provided outstanding assistance to the Society in the various projects and achievements of that President during his or her term. 

Honorary Membership

From time to time the Council of the Law Society recognises extraordinary contributions by lawyers via the award of Honorary Membership of the Society.  Whilst no specific criteria are applied, support and service to the Law Society, to the legal profession and in upholding the rule of law and access to justice principles are some of the bases on which Honorary Memberships have been bestowed.

Gender Equity in Law Award

This Award recognises a contribution to the advancement of the interests of women lawyers, and/or a recognisable contribution to issues in legal practice which affect women.

Young Lawyer of the Year Award

The Law Society's Young Lawyers' Committee established the Young Lawyer of the Year Award to annually recognise and reward a Young Lawyer who provides an outstanding contribution to the legal profession and the community.




Bulletin Article of the Year Award and Opinion of the Year Award

The Society presents the Article of the Year Award, for the best article in the Bulletin over the past 12 months, and the Opinion of the Year Award, for the best opinion piece over the same period.