Special Interest Committees

The Law Society’s Council has established a number of Special Interest Committees, which report to the Council.  They fall into two groups, namely 

  • Special Interest - Membership Committees.  These Committees represent a specific section of the Society’s Members and they oversee the provision of specialised services to Members.
  • Special Interest - Area of Law Committees.  These Committees comprise Members who practise in a particular area of law and assist the Society in its work relating to proposed and existing legislation; and in responding to and informing Members of any issues that may be of relevance to Members, the profession or the wider community. 

Membership of most of the Special Interest Committees* (see lists and further details relating to them below) is open to Members via Expression of Interest and is reviewed biennially.  Current appointments to these Committees expire on 31 December 2018. Expressions of interest are assessed on the capacity of the Committee to take a new Member and the balance of membership of the Committee including as to seniority and experience, membership by firms, and representation of specialised practice areas.  

As an appointment process for 2019-20 is currently underway, and the period for expressions of interest has expired, it is not possible to express an interest at this time (unless there is a specific invitation to Members in relation to a specific Committee). 

*The exceptions are the Equality, Diversion and Inclusion Committee, Medico-Legal Advisory Group, Risk Management Advisory Group and the Well-Being and Resilience Committee.  These Committees have specific membership criteria, set out in their Terms of Reference.  Members are invited from time to time to express an interest in appointment to these Committees (via notices in InBrief). 

The Policy and Guidelines for Committees and an information sheet are available here

Details on each of the committees are available to members by clicking on the committee names below.

Special Interest - Membership Groups

Country Practitioners Committee 


Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Medico-Legal Advisory Group

Public Sector & In-House Lawyers' Committee

Small Practice Committee

Well-Being and Resilience Committee

Women's Lawyers Committee

Young Lawyers' Committee

Special Interest - Area of Law

Aboriginal Issues Committee  

Accident Compensation Committee

Administrative Law Committee
Advocacy Committee

Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee

Animal Law Committee

Children and the Law Committee

Civil Litigation Committee

Commercial Law Committee

Costs Committee

Criminal Law Committee  
Family Law Committee
Human Rights Committee
Industrial Relations Committee
International Legal Practice Committee
Justice Access Committee
Planning, Environment & Local Government
Property Committee
Succession Law Committee